The Bath is situated in the heart of the picturesque village of Lynmouth overlooking the harbour on the stunning North Devon coast with the Exmoor National Park. The Hotel is an ideal base for scenic coastal walks and rambling over the moo... Read more

Read Reviews

Enter dates to see prices and availability for The Bath Hotel

King-Ensuite-Harbour View-Room 21

King-Ensuite-Harbour View-Rm 27

Twin-Ensuite-Harbour View-RM 28

Double-Classic-Ensuite

Double-Classic-Ensuite-View RM 23

Reviews

The Bath Hotel

(51 Guest Reviews)

Guest Ratings

  • 29
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Review Summary

  • Rooms 4.0
  • Value 4.3
  • Friendliness 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.1
  • Service 4.7
  • Location 4.9

Review Overall Rating

  • 5.0
  • 4.0
  • 3.0
  • 2.0
  • 1.0
  • 4.5
Brandon Adult(s) Stayed: Dec 16

Excelled as always

This is the third time we have stayed and nothing seems to much, excellent staff and very polite always making sure we have everything we need. The room was perfect as it is always I would recommend the bath hotel to everyone . Read more

Likes?
Everything
Dislikes?
Nothing
5
Elizabeth Mature couple Stayed: Nov 16

Relaxed & quiet

Lynmouth is lovely, even better out of season.
The staff were all lovely & there was a really relaxed atmosphere. Read more

Response

Thank your for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and we hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
Everything
Dislikes?
No
5
Faye Mature couple Stayed: Nov 16

Lovely stay

Immaculate hotel, friendly staff, delicious 3 course meal then gins in cocktail lounge whilst locals sang sea shanties - perfect! Great that we could take dog too! Read more

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
Room affordable and great atmosphere
Dislikes?
None
4
David Mature couple Stayed: Nov 16

would stay here again

enjoyable couple of days lovely place good hotel. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
weather was good
Dislikes?
No
4
Michael Family with young children Stayed: Oct 16

Very helpful and child friendly

2 weekday nights Read more

Response

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you and your family back to hotel soon.

Likes?
Very welcoming and helpful with practical aspects of travelling with a 1 year old.
Dislikes?
No
5
julie Mature couple Stayed: Sep 16

pleasant overnight stay

revisiting the hotel= we enjoyed it so much last time Read more

Response

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. However I am very sorry to hear that the breakfast service was slow, I will speak to the staff regarding this but I am pleased to here you enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
lovely position
Dislikes?
breakfast service was very slow but the food was lovely.
4
John Mature couple Stayed: Aug 16

Excellent staff, excellent food, good communal areas, slightly tired room.

Our stay was a short break visiting Lynmouth again after many years. It was as lovely as we remembered. Good weather, good walks and good food added to the enjoyment. The view from the hotel was perfect and the staff and food at breakfast and dinner was equally perfect. The area enjoys a good mix of things to do and see. We'll be coming again. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review, we really appreceiate your comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the room, we completely understand and we are in the process of refurbishing the entire hotel. So far we have refurbished The Ancient Mariner bar and The Aubrey Cocktail bar and we will begin to refurbish the guestrooms this Winter.

We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
The excellent staff and food both at breakfast and dinner were the 'icing on the cake'. Bed very comfortable. Room made up daily. The view was perfect. A relaxed but professional ambience shone out.
Dislikes?
The sink not being in the bathroom was not ideal but understandable given the room dimension limitations. The décor looked a tad tired and would have benefited from a spruce up.
4
John Family with young children Stayed: Aug 16

Lovely holiday

We had a pleasant stay here. We stayed for 4 nights with our 4 year old son. We booked a the family deluxe (I think) room which accommodated up to 2 adults with 2 children. Room had sea view and was spacious. Ideal for a family and fine to get through a rainy afternoon drinking hot chocolate...if the hotel car park is full it is not really a problem to park on the road nearby. We had visited lynmouth during the day before and enjoyed staying here. Read more

Response

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
The room was spacious enough for 3 people. It was clean and quiet. Breakfast was great.
We had a great time and would definitely come back!
Dislikes?
None
5
Erin Alone Stayed: Aug 16

Clean and comfy

Room was comfortable, spacious and clean. All facilities worked fine such as tv, lights, kettle, bathroom, windows etc. nil complaints. Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
Great location. Great view from room that i was upgraded to and thoroughly enjoyed. Sitting room chairs in room made it more leasurable to enjoy the view whilst having a cup of tea.
Dislikes?
None
5
CLAIRE Family with young children Stayed: Aug 16

Delicious desserts and monster gins!

Family break for three in a family room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and exploring the beautiful countryside. Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your review.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our latest refurbishments. We will be refurbishing the guest rooms over the Winter period, to the same high standard. We are very fortunate to have parking at the hotel, as parking in Lynmouth is very limited. Unfortunately if we are full we cannot accommodate all 20 vehicles, there is street parking available for 2 hours and then you can park from 4pm to 12 noon the next day.

We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
Excellent location. Refurbished cocktail bar and restaurant were wonderful. Will be interested in revisiting when the whole hotel is transformed.
Dislikes?
Parking space was limited although we managed to park nearby on the road. Parking was for a maximum of 2 hours during the day.
4
Ali Adult(s) Stayed: Jul 16

Relaxing break in a stunning location

We booked a one night stay to celebrate a friend's 'big' birthday. The Bath hotel was an ideal location. We enjoyed strolling around the shops, a walk to the Valley of the Rocks, a ride on the funicular railway and a lovely evening meal. The staff were very busy during the evening, but were friendly and good humoured throughout. They made room to seat 5 people in a very busy restaurant effortlessly. The rooms were comfortable and well decorated and two if the three we booked had lovely views. Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We really appreciate your comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
The beautiful location and stunning views, the wide variety of walks available nearby, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
Dislikes?
None
5
Helen Family with young children Stayed: Jul 16

Very friendly and helpful staff and a lovely location

We stayed overnight on our way down to Cornwall and it was perfect. Will certainly stay again. Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
The staff were really friendly and helpful with our young daughter and us.
Dislikes?
None
5
robert Mature couple Stayed: Jul 16

good after we changed rooms, we were put on the top floor, 5 flights.

second room on first floor, ideal. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review. We state on our website and all Online Travel Agents websites that we unfortunately don't have a lift at the hotel as it is a Victorian building. We have three floors at the hotel, so 3 flights of stairs not 5 flights but we know that 3 flights of stairs can be too much for some of our guests and we try to reallocate our guests if possible as we did for you. Also we ask guests to let us know if they have mobility issues, so we can give them a first floor room.

Likes?
its situation
Dislikes?
None
4
nick Adult(s) Stayed: Jul 16

ok for one night

ok for what we needed Read more

Response

Thank you for your review. When you stayed with us you chose a standard room which is small and has no view, which is reflected in the price. We have a selection of Deluxe and Luxury rooms available at the hotel which are very spacious and offer Harbour and sea views. One of our Luxury rooms offers panoramic sea views. If you weren't happy with the room you booked, we would of been more than happy to reallocate you to a sea view room if we had a room free. Thank you.

Likes?
nice village location
Dislikes?
room very small with no view
3
David Young couple Stayed: Jul 16

Excellent food, very clean, rooms adequate for our stay.

Excellent food, very clean, rooms adequate for our stay. Peaceful location, close to the sea. No need to drive anywhere. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishing the entire hotel, so far we have managed to complete refurbishments on The Ancient Mariner bar and The Aubrey Cocktail bar. We hope to start refurbishing the guest rooms in the near future. With regards to the TV signal we are aware of the issue caused by our remote location and we are currently having a brand new system installed . We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
Attentive staff, excellent food and service.
Dislikes?
Rooms were only adequate. Very dated, and poor TV for such modern times - barely had terrestrial channels.
4
Steve Mature couple Stayed: Jun 16

A good traditional hotel

Enjoyable Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
Friendly atmosphere
Dislikes?
None
4
Mark Mature couple Stayed: May 16

Great Bank Holiday Stay

We had a lovely stay at the Bath Hotel and enjoyed being in the centre of Lynmouth immensely!
The room was very comfortable, the breakfast exceptionally good and the service throughout was really very good from the welcome to the goodbye. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apology for the lack of shower in your room, unfortunately the room you stayed in is the only room in the hotel that doesn't have a shower. When possible we try to upgrade guests to an alternative room but on this occasion we were fully booked. We are in the process of refurbishing the entire hotel and we will be refurbishing the guest rooms shortly. We very much hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
We particularly liked the breakfast and the quietness of the room and hotel in general, even though there were plenty of canine guests they were all very well behaved.
Dislikes?
The only thing missing for us was a shower. The tap in the room was a shower tap but with no hose attached.
I hope in the coming renovations this is sorted out with a few tiles, a rail and a curtain.
5
Giovanni Young couple Stayed: May 16

Dog friendly, great views, great location

10 Read more

Response

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
R
Dislikes?
N
5
Sara Mature couple Stayed: May 16

A great getaway

One night away in a lovely location and a great hotel. Read more

Response

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comments. We are refurbishing the hotel and have begun with The Ancient Mariner bar and The Aubrey Cocktail bar but we do aim to refurbish all of the guest rooms in the near future. We hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
The location was amazing. Great restaurant the food was fantastic.
Bars good. Great little village.
Dislikes?
Wash basin was in room not in ensuite.
4
kate Family with older children Stayed: Apr 16

Great Hotel

Two night stay to look at local property made really nice by warm friendly staff at the hotel. Read more

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Likes?
The relaxed atmosphere in the bar/lounge and staff friendliness.
Dislikes?
None
4
Andrew Family with older children Stayed: Feb 16

Lovely friendly place to stay

Short break on the North Devon coast Read more

Response

Thank you for your kind review. As we have just re-opened our friendly and dedicated team is striving to make guest experiences great. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future. Douglas

Likes?
Friendly staff, excellent breakfasts
Dislikes?
None
5
Neil Alone Stayed: Sep 15

pleasant

Nice and quiet Read more

Likes?
had to leave early before breakfast so theyou gave me a goodie bag of sandwiches, crisps, chocolate bar and mineral water , nice touch
Dislikes?
nope
5
Mrs Family with older children Stayed: Sep 15

Excellent hotel, great value for money would recommed

My husband, son, my mother and myself had a weekend away at The Bath Hotel. The hotel was perfect for what wanted, great location and the staff were very friendly. We had a family room which was large with a double and two twin beds - very clean and comfortable. My mother had a double room which again was lovely and comfortable. We had a great weekend and will definitely be back. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Read more

Likes?
The staff, lovely comfortable room, great location and delicious breakfast
Dislikes?
None
5
florence Mature couple Stayed: Sep 15

Delightful; a piece of England at its best!

Overnight stay. Read more

Likes?
Superb location, very professional staff but yet super flexible and friendly. Characterful and opulent breakfast room complete with immaculate white damask table cloth and napkins. Excellent breakfast
Dislikes?
Maybe a little upgrading on rooms' furnishing would complete the picture.
4
Brian Mature couple Stayed: Sep 15

Excellent family hotel for a short break

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel more than adequate for our needs. We booked a superior room which had a good view of the harbour and a sofa, making this a good place to relax. Although we booked B&B, we had dinner each night we were there; far nicer than having to go out and find food in the evening. The hotel is ideally located for walking around the village. Read more

Likes?
An ideal location, quiet and close to all local amenities. A good, friendly welcome which continued throughout our stay. Food was of excellent quality.
Dislikes?
None
5
derek Mature couple Stayed: Aug 15

overnight stay

stayed 1 night whilst touring west country Read more

Likes?
food, staff and location
Dislikes?
no lifts, tv in room too small
4
Belinda Mature couple Stayed: Aug 15

Really good value for money

Had a fabulous night away felt like we had been away for days! Very relaxing. Read more

Likes?
Helped to re charge the run down battery!
Dislikes?
No
5
Neale Young couple Stayed: Aug 15

a comfortable stay

The accommodation was generally good and we had an enjoyable time. Read more

Likes?
a great breakfast was served and the bedroom had a brilliant view.
Dislikes?
the shower was difficult to control and ran very hot from time to time
4
Julie Mature couple Stayed: Aug 15

Over night break

An overnight break to relax after a recent bereavement Read more

Likes?
The hotel is in a prime location the staff were lovely the food in restutant excellenan room was fabulous with views of the harbour it was spotlessly clean and comfortable
Dislikes?
Everything was perfect
5
Celia Mature couple Stayed: May 15

A short spring break around Exmoor

An opportunity to relax and visit this part of England Read more

Likes?
The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly. They helped arrange a different room one day so I could shower (see below). The country side is spectacular.
Dislikes?
Our room only had a bath with no shower or bath tap shower attachment (and no proper grab handles). I couldn't use this to bathe or wash my hair as I have had a hip replacement.
4
Alexandra Alone Stayed: Apr 15

Love the Bath hotel

Had another wonderful stay at the Bath hotel Read more

Likes?
Great room, shower and bath, big comfy double bed, clean crisp cotton bedding, great location, massive breakfast. Super service from the staff, wish I could have stayed longer
Dislikes?
TV reception is not brilliant but that is normal in Lynmouth
5
Jerry Alone Stayed: Apr 15

A comfortable relaxing stay

My end point for walking the Coldridge Way. The accommodation was good, as was the restaurant food.The room I stayed in was good.(Spacious and comfortable although a little tired.) Read more

Likes?
For me, the main criteria required of a country stay whilst on a walking holiday are a comfortable room, good food and beer and a good shower. This had the lot.
Dislikes?
None
4
James Alone Stayed: Apr 15

Excellent value for money and very friendly welcome.

Just a short overnight stay so that I could go for a walk over the Cleaves to unwind. Read more

Likes?
It is always really friendly and everything always goes smoothly.
Dislikes?
None
5
karen Family with older children Stayed: Mar 15

Friendly, welcoming,clean with fantastic views of the harbour.

Our family stayed at The Bath Hotel for two nights in March . We had a friendly welcome from Kerry who settled us into our rooms . The evening meal in the restaurant was amazing along with great service. After a comfy nights sleep breakfast was excellent , nothing was too much trouble for the girls. Read more

Likes?
The friendliness of the staff , they made you feel at home . Sitting in front of the roaring fire and the food !!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the views x
Dislikes?
Nothing at all ....
5
Sharon Mature couple Stayed: Mar 15

Excellent value

Very relaxing Read more

Likes?
The standard of room was excellent the food could not be faulted for value and choice and the staff were very friendly.
Dislikes?
No
5
Len Mature couple Stayed: Mar 15

Good long weekend break

Very friendly and accommodating staff, the only criticism was the bed sloped towards the middle and was probably due to be changed. Read more

Likes?
Nice place, nice area and we had good weather
Dislikes?
No
5
Roy Mature couple Stayed: Mar 15

Really friendly Hotel

We have just returned from a great break in Lynmouth staying at the Bath Hotel. We had a great stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful and do credit to the Hotel. The breakfast was lovely, my only comment is that the plate was not big enough. We were allocated Room 22. The room décor was a little tied but perfectly adequate. The room was right at the top of the hotel. Quite a few stairs to negotiate but was worth it because of the great view of the sea and beach. Read more

Likes?
We really liked its location, friendliness Food and view from our room
Dislikes?
Would have liked a few more power points but we managed. Our only negative was that you have to pay for internet connection which even then is not available in your room.
5
Mark Mature couple Stayed: Feb 15

Great value for money

Had a weekend away Fri/Sat, We stayed in Luxury Dble which was good value for the money paid, although decoration not very modern,the decoration suits the building age. The food both at breakfast and evening meal was excellent both in quality and quantity, the breakfast was the best and hottest we have ever been served in an hotel. The chef even came out during evening meal to check everything was OK. All staff were very cheerful, helpful and friendly. would defiantly recommend to friends. Read more

Likes?
The position of the hotel and the staff
Dislikes?
None
5
Ronald Mature couple Stayed: Feb 15

Very relaxing

Really enjoyed everything about or stay from arrival to departure, very friendly staff, and everything catered for. Read more

Likes?
Very nice room with a good view, very clean, nice bathroom, good food in the restaurant, wonderful breakfast, cosy nights in the bar.
Dislikes?
None
5
Katie Young couple Stayed: Feb 15

Thoroughly relaxing break

We had a lovely time at the Bath Hotel. Comfortable room, stunning location, delicious food and very friendly and helpful staff. Read more

Likes?
Everything
Dislikes?
None
5
mark Young couple Stayed: Feb 15

Very nice and relaxing

Excellent all round, love the area anyway after many visits The Bath hotel is a friendly welcoming hotel. Read more

Likes?
Everything
Dislikes?
No
5
Rachel Young couple Stayed: Oct 14

Comfortable - home away from home.

The hotel had a lovely homely feel about it. We stayed for two nights and slept well on both of these. The staff were very helpful and we would have no hesitation in returning. Read more

Likes?
Homely feel.
Dislikes?
The shower temperature did fluctuate.
4
Brian Adult(s) Stayed: Sep 14

Would stay again

Whether guests would return is always a good barometer by which to measure a hotel and it's services - I will certainly return to the Bath Hotel.
Very welcoming, clean, friendly staff and in a good location, this hotel is worthy of a visit. The restaurant provides a good level of service and quality. Read more

Likes?
An individual small hotel where friendly and dedicated services are provided to guests.
Dislikes?
None
4
Robert Mature couple Stayed: Sep 14

Just what we wanted for a shorted break in North Devon.

A short break Read more

Likes?
Room was clean and comfortable. Liked firm beds.
Dislikes?
Orientation of bathroom & absence of shower
4
richard Mature couple Stayed: Sep 14

Pass

Pass Read more

Likes?
Excellent view, as advertised
Dislikes?
Food was fine, but dinner menu was limited for choice
4
Les Mature couple Stayed: Aug 14

Comfortable and convenient for a local event.

Excellent room with sea view, plenty of storage in the room and the bathroom. Good mirrors. Read more

Likes?
Everything.
Dislikes?
No, everything was up to and beyond our expectations.
5
Barbara Mature couple Stayed: Jun 14

Hope to come again.

Stayed for just one night as a stopover. Would have liked to stay longer but was committed elsewhere. Maybe next time. Read more

Likes?
Could not wish for a better view from room. It was spectacular. Breakfast was very well cooked and tasty. Best I have had in a long time. Wonderful selection of starters. Must recommend the yogurt.
Dislikes?
None
5
Gill Mature couple Stayed: Jun 14

Great location

Everything was fine about this hotel. The breakfast was good. We had a large room with a sea view. A bit dated but everything was clean and comfortable. Read more

Likes?
Location, cleanliness
Dislikes?
None
4
Prudence Mature couple Stayed: May 14

Good Hotel and friendly staff

A last minute weekend away.Good choice of eating at the hotel - restaurant, quite expensive but unpretentious and very good food. Bar - typical bar food but good value for money. Read more

Likes?
Very clean hotel. Rooms a bit dated, but lovely comfy bed and superb breakfast. Would definitely return.
Dislikes?
Car parking a bit of a lottery. We were lucky that there was a space in hotel car park, so parked up and walked everywhere during the weekend.
4
Sally Mature couple Stayed: Apr 14

Simply lovely

... what more can you say Read more

Likes?
Service
Dislikes?
None
5
Susan Alone Stayed: Mar 14

Friendly service,excelent value for money

As always I was made to feel welcome.This place makes lone guests feel at ease. Read more

Likes?
Comfortable accommodation & the knowledge that there is always someone on hand to deal with any issues.
Dislikes?
No. Absolutely not!!
5

The Bath Hotel Information

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Free Internet access (wireless) in public areas
  • Ironing facilities
  • Lounge
  • Non-smoking (throughout)
  • Restaurant
  • On-site parking
  • Free parking

Children's Facilities

  • Children's menu
  • Cots
  • Highchairs

Business Facilities

  • Internet connection (wireless)

Policies

  • Check in: 15:00 till 22:00
  • Check out: 11:00
  • Child Policy: Children welcome
  • Smoking Policy: No smoking
  • Pets: Dogs

Description

The Bath has been owned and managed by the same family since 1951 and offers a warm, friendly service, excellent value for money and limited free parking. Accommodation is very comfortable, all rooms are en suite with showers and baths with only one exception, most with excellent sea views, tea and coffee making facilities, TV showing the main five channels, Sky news and telephone. Free WiFi in public areas of the hotel. We have two newly refurbished bars at the hotel. The Aubrey Cocktail Bar and our award winning Ancient Mariner bar, which serves food and drink all day. We also have our fine dining Aubrey restaurant and a more relaxed seating area called The Galley which is ideal for families. Our excellent team of Chefs prepare an array of delicious dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Winter Opening Times: The Aubrey Bar and The Aubrey Restaurant will only be open on Friday and Saturday evenings throughout October, November and December. The Ancient Mariner bar will still be open all day for food and drink, 7 days a week. Children are most welcome at The Bath. Well behaved dogs by prior arrangement. There is a small £10 charge per dog for each stay. We do not have a lift at the hotel. All bedrooms are located on the first to third floor. If you have any problems with mobility please let us know and we will try our best to accommodate your needs, with a first floor room. The Bath is only two minutes walk from the famous funicular Cliff Railway which will take you up to the neighbouring village of Lynton. Here you can visit the Lyn Museum, explore Hollerday Hill and the famous Valley of The Rocks, formed during the ice age. The Valley of the Rocks has towering rock formations with names such as ‘The Devil’s Cheesewring’, and its centrepiece, ‘Castle Rock’. It is renowned for its resident herd of wild goats and Exmoor ponies. The centre of this valley is probably the most magnificent setting in England for a village cricket pitch!

On-site parking, Free parking,

Booking Terms and Conditions

 

We use cookies. By continuing to use this site you are accepting our cookie policies.

Scroll to top