A hidden treasure...at the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in ... Read more

Read Reviews

Enter dates to see prices and availability for Stramacchio Italiano @ Elvey Farm

Reviews

Stramacchio Italiano @ Elvey Farm

(84 Guest Reviews)

Guest Ratings

  • 50
  • 27
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1

Review Summary

  • Rooms 4.4
  • Value 4.2
  • Friendliness 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 4.3
  • Service 4.6
  • Location 4.6

Review Overall Rating

  • 5.0
  • 4.0
  • 3.0
  • 2.0
  • 1.0
  • 4.5
Maxine Young couple Stayed: Feb 17

Disappointed

We've stayed here twice before back in 2011 and 2012 and had a lovely time with no problems in the Canterbury suite but on arrival the room was freezing, the heating didn't work so we had to get two electric heaters, the left sink was blocked, the bathroom lights didn't work, the bath took forever to fill up as the tap head is blocked with chalk and the hot tub lights didn't work so we couldn't see each other. Read more

Likes?
It was nice to get away for the night but with all the problems mentioned above we just had to make light of it
Dislikes?
Again, all of the above, we used to love coming to elvey farm but we won't be returning shame really as it's a beautiful place.
3
Michael Mature couple Stayed: Feb 17

Friday Night stopover while visiting family.

Stopover to visit family in Canterbury and enjoy an evening away with restaurant facilities at the same location. Read more

Likes?
Lovely characterful house, very comfortable and quiet off the beaten track. Spacious room with tea making facilities, television etc. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Dislikes?
Room did get very hot even for February and we could not adjust the radiator. saying that we'd rather be too hot than too cold.
5
Vivienne Young couple Stayed: Jan 17

Beautiful setting, friendly staff, needs some tlc

Overnight stay with meal in restaurant. Read more

Likes?
Beautiful setting
Dislikes?
The room needs some attention. Plud dangerously broken and hanging out of wall. Draft from window and blind springs up and shuts whenever. Bathroom radiator looks old and broken.
3
Antonia Mature couple Stayed: Jan 17

Good

Quiet, relaxing, happy Read more

Likes?
Bed
Dislikes?
None
5
Sue Adult(s) Stayed: Dec 16

Lovely Location shame the room was cold

We went for New Years Eve staryed in the Oasthouse which unfortunately was cold, as was the Marque, food and staff were excellent. Read more

Likes?
Location and food
Dislikes?
Stayed in the Oasthouse, which unfortunately was cold, as was the Marque but would be really nice in the summer.
4
Rebecca Young couple Stayed: Dec 16

Amazing time

Myself and my fiancé stayed for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Canterbury Suite. Read more

Likes?
The room was perfect. The setting, even more prefect. Staff were lovely and helpful. And we loved the secret garden even more!
Dislikes?
The only thing I can suggest is that the 'Secret Garden' could do with a little tlc. Once we lost daylight it was incredibly difficult to see. Most of the lights around had been broken.
5
stewart Mature couple Stayed: Dec 16

batterys not recharged

The initial impression of the place was great, a wonderful rural setting, lovely buildings and very tidy apperance. The reception was pleasant and inviting, the staff were friendly and accomodating, the only thing missing was a fire. The Canterbury suite was fantastic and the layout of the wetroom and bedroom was great. It was a 100 yrd stroll to the hot tub, but hey. The only let down was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept on, ever. So the good night sleep we went for wasn't achieved Read more

Likes?
We loved the room. The food from the resturant was very good and reasonably priced. The rural location and the way the buildings have been renovated to a high standard in keeping with the suroundings.
Dislikes?
The only dissapointment was the bed. This wasn't realised until late so not a very restful night. When the issue was raised at checkout the lady was apologetic but didnt really comment.
4
Felicity Young couple Stayed: Dec 16

Perfect

Stayed in the Canterbury Suite for our anniversary! Absolutely stunning and the service was amazing. Will be coming back for sure! Read more

Likes?
Stunning location! Perfect for a countryside getaway!
Dislikes?
None
5
Neale Mature couple Stayed: Dec 16

Wonderful

Lovely place,great location, food was fantastic in the restaurant in the evening and at breakfast. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, look forward to coming back and trying the other rooms. Read more

Likes?
Everything, location,room,food,the lot.
Dislikes?
None
5
Lorraine Mature couple Stayed: Dec 16

Wonderful place

The suite we had Penshust ground floor, was absolutely wonderful, the bed was comfy, tea and coffee were provided along with still and sparkling water. The bathroom was amazing, massive freestanding bath, and lovely walk in shower with rain drenching shower head. The meal in the Italian restaurant was amazing and excellent value for three courses. The service was good if a little slow but they had a big Xmas party in their marquee and they apologised in advance plus we weren't in any hurry. Read more

Likes?
The room was amazing and the food in the restaurant was also wonderful.
Dislikes?
The people in the suite above were a little noisy but obviously Elvey Farm can't really do much about that!
5
Christine Alone Stayed: Nov 16

Peaceful setting

Quiet night in a comfortable room. Read more

Likes?
Peaceful, rural location
Dislikes?
None
4
heidi Mature couple Stayed: Oct 16

The Best we have ever had!!!

We stayed in the Canterbury suite one word beautiful!!!
original feature, stunning views & the hot tub fantastic! Read more

Likes?
The accommodation is amazing - hot tub a special treat -
the food was out of this world, we have eaten in some of the best restaurants - but this meal was amazing I cant put it in words!!!
Dislikes?
no - only that we had to leave!!
5
Andy Young couple Stayed: Sep 16

Peacefulness and outstanding comfort

Perfect Read more

Likes?
Everything especially the hot tub
Dislikes?
No
5
Roel Mature couple Stayed: Sep 16

Wonderful hidden gem, excellent location and very good food.!

Short stay on our way back to the Netherlands. Didn't expect such a quiet place in such a busy area. Read more

Likes?
The whole atmosphere: very relaxed, great service
Dislikes?
No
5
Laurent Family with young children Stayed: Aug 16

n/a

n/a Read more

Likes?
n/a
Dislikes?
n/a
4
Joanna Mature couple Stayed: Jul 16

Heavenly stay in a heaveny venue

Relaxing evening, wonderful food supplied by excellent staff. Read more

Likes?
Atmosphere and the standard of Elvey Farm is outstanding.
Dislikes?
N/A
5
Geoff Mature couple Stayed: Jul 16

Relaxing stay in a peaceful location - great breakfasts and dinner.

Three nights whilst attending a wedding. We arrived from the US, Elvey Farm helps us over the jet lag! Lovely breakfasts, dinner at Stramacchio with friends. Everything worked out great. Beautiful rural location close to where I grew up. This was our second stay at Elvey Farm. Read more

Likes?
Great room (Tenterden), great food, great location.
Dislikes?
None
5
Jenny Mature couple Stayed: Jun 16

idyllic rural accommodation

A delightful place to stay in picturesque surroundings.
Room was very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Beautifully restored stables and barns. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Read more

Likes?
The whole setting was beautiful.
Dislikes?
None
5
Stuart Alone Stayed: May 16

Great place to stay if you are visiting the Wildlife Heritage Centre

Stayed for one Sunday night prior to an event I had planned the following Monday. Read more

Likes?
Excellent location, very attractive views across the Kent countryside. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room, evening meal and breakfast were excellent! Their cat even joined me!
Dislikes?
pillows were a little hard for my head. Very limited (or no) mobile phone coverage.
5
Joanna Young couple Stayed: May 16

Idyllic location, lovely rooms

We had a lovely one night stay in the Sevenoaks Room. The room was very well presented, complete with a very friendly black cat welcoming us back to our room. Read more

Likes?
The breakfast was outstanding, really good quality food!
Dislikes?
None
5
Ulrich Mature couple Stayed: May 16

A Lovely Place

A Nice break in a warm and friendly atmosphere Read more

Likes?
Friendliness cosyness and quietness
Dislikes?
None
5
Paul Alone Stayed: May 16

Fantastic place to get away from London to.

I know people will think how can you give it tops marks through the board but trust me this place is amazing and run by a fantastic Italian family. An Italian gem in the middle of Kent. Read more

Likes?
I had a choice of a bath OR a shower. In my experience that is very rare these days.
Dislikes?
Not a little tiny thing.
5
Samantha Young couple Stayed: May 16

Quiet romantic place to stay

We checked into the Canterbury Suite at 3pm (we wanted to make the most of the lovely weather in our hot tub!) We had dinner in the restaurant at 8pm and breakfast in the morning. Read more

Likes?
The Canterbury Suite, main country house and setting was beautiful, dinner was lovely and very quick service. Breakfast was cooked to order and it was all very relaxed and quiet:
Dislikes?
The hot tub area could do with some TLC. Hot tub settings did not all work (no lights) the summer house floor needs replacing and few more plants to make it a bit more secluded.
5
Marian Adult(s) Stayed: Apr 16

Quiet rural retreat

Stayed for one night with my husband and were joined by my daughter and her boyfriend who had visited before Read more

Likes?
Loved the accommodation which was to a high standard . Enjoyed our Italian meal - nice relaxed atmosphere
Dislikes?
Breakfast was chaotic - it was busy but no excuse for running out of fruit,bread,and juice simultaneously ! Nice cooked breakfast when it did finally come.
4
Lisa Young couple Stayed: Apr 16

Luxury

Canterbury suite was fantastic Read more

Likes?
Canterbury suite, peacefulness of the farm, the decoration of the room, the hot tub.
Dislikes?
Was given tea and coffee but no mugs or spoons to have them with. The beach hut was in appalling condition. The floor looked it it had been ripped up and was very hazardous. Cats come through windows
4
Harriet Mature couple Stayed: Apr 16

Fantastic food, great service, perfect location.

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious, home cooked food and friendly service. Read more

Likes?
The location, the restaurant and bar area, the delicious food.
Dislikes?
None
5
Andy Young couple Stayed: Apr 16

Nice little place to stay but overpriced and misleadingly advertised

We had a pleasant overnight stay however found one too many negatives for us to return. Read more

Likes?
The room was nice. Enjoyed the bath and the shower the most.
Dislikes?
The location of the hot tub, the fact the hot tub did not work properly and the bed was rock solid. Leading to a very uncomfortable few hours sleep. We should have booked one of the cheaper rooms.
3
Tanya Family with young children Stayed: Mar 16

run by a loving italian family.

At the heart of our stay was the family who worked seamlessly and lovingly to attend us. We felt embraced and welcomed into the little secret that is Elvey Farm. Perfectly positioned between tourist attractions like Leeds castle and Rye for day trips. A devine restaurant and a sense of timelessness in this simple farmland. My children wandered and played and we are, slept and relaxed. There are always criticisms if you want them although I can make none being spellbound by Elvey Farm. Read more

Likes?
Simplicity yet luxurious. Restaurant on site. Children were safe. The staff.
Dislikes?
Wider wifi coverage but it was available at reception with ease.
5
Simon Mature couple Stayed: Mar 16

Lovely location in the garden of England

A short overnight stay whilst exploring the locality Read more

Likes?
Excellent food, lovely quaint location, very peaceful
Dislikes?
Room is due a refurb, but nothing that spoilt our enjoyment
4
Lindsay Young couple Stayed: Mar 16

Total relaxation

, Read more

Likes?
Really peaceful setting, very comfortable room and a relaxed atmosphere.
Dislikes?
None
5
Mary Ann Adult(s) Stayed: Mar 16

Lovely setting with friendly, helpful staff and wonderful food

Elvey is a great place to stay with your dog as it's down a track a long way from the main road and surrounded by lovely walks. The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Read more

Likes?
The fact that when a mistake was made (our room was booked out to another family) it was put right immediately by upgrading us to a superior room.
Dislikes?
Actually, I can't think of anything!
4
Jo Mature couple Stayed: Feb 16

Night away from the kids

Upon arrival were told the Oast House room we'd requested (and had confirmed) was no longer available. We were put in a more expensive room in the stable block for the same price, however it was the Oast House we really wanted. The previous guests had taken our remote control which we were only told when we asked where it was, a replacement wasn't found. The lounge area wasn't very comfortable. In the photo the 4 poster bed was dressed with a curtain, but in fact it was just a frame above a bed Read more

Likes?
The children of the owners were friendly,delightful & polite and a credit to the hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was perfectly nice (nothing special though) and the breakfast was very good.
Dislikes?
There were 2 large groups the day we went. We think they bumped us out of our room in the Oast House but aren't sure. The owner seemed quite distracted and I don't believe we saw the best of him!
4
Neil Mature couple Stayed: Feb 16

A perfect stay over Valentine with an outstanding meal

We stayed one night over the Valentine weekend. My wife has a complicated dietary need. The restaurant were very understanding and willing to work with us and even produced an individual printed menu especially for my wife on the night. The quality of food was excellent. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and warm throughout. The staff were very attentive and polite. In summary we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay longer perhaps in the summer months. Read more

Likes?
The beautiful location and the serene quiet.
Dislikes?
No
5
Holly Young couple Stayed: Jan 16

Amazing experience excellent food lovely location with some added extras lovely family service

From start to finish I can't fault a thing, lovely staff will do any thing to make your stay perfect even a little Surprise extra. Thank you so much for the lovely home made cakes for my fiancé birthday. Beautiful location stunning room. Best food me and fiancé have ever tasted. And I loved the atmosphere relaxed quite and love your cats and dog. Read more

Likes?
The room was so warm and inviting. The hot tub was such a romantic setting with a spectacular sunset. Food is such a joy lovely wine.
Dislikes?
3 things that may improve it slightly is a outside patio heater by the hottub for when you get changed. Some music in back ground of restraunt and a mini fridge for room to keep water or wine cold.
4
Helen Mature couple Stayed: Jan 16

Very convenient overnight stay

Very comfy Read more

Likes?
The evening meal was amazing
Dislikes?
None
5
Nick Alone Stayed: Dec 15

Splendid. Great service too

Delightful location and rooms with character. Comfortable and most enjoyable.
The owner was attentive and friendly without being intrusive, a balance which few places manage.
Nice simple direct online booking too. Read more

Likes?
Being joined for breakfast by a friend the owner very kindly made no charge for her breakfast, a very nice touch. You don't get customer service like that at a Premier Inn!
Dislikes?
None
5
Donna Mature couple Stayed: Dec 15

Lovely place. Great weekend.

relaxing Read more

Likes?
Everything
Dislikes?
no
4
Victoria Young couple Stayed: Nov 15

Lovely service and location, rooms and bathrooms a little tired, excellent food

Overnight before taking tunnel. Excellent Italian dinner and friendly service. Read more

Likes?
Dinner, unique room style of buildings, service, overall feel and ethics. Nice selection on teas in the rooms.
Dislikes?
Cluster flies seem to be a problem, even in the bed. Cleanliness of rooms needs to be improved (hoovering in particular). Tv not in good working order. Broken drawer in the furniture.
4
John Mature couple Stayed: Nov 15

Perfect Place to Stay

Peaceful location, very comfortable room, wonderful food, a friendly host and easy access to the M20 and the channel tunnel. What more could you want? Read more

Likes?
Everything
Dislikes?
Nothing
5
Lynne Mature couple Stayed: Nov 15

Relaxing weekend break in beautiful surroundings

A fantastic weekend away celebrating 22 years of marriage. Canterbury room was gorgeous. Restaurant food was excellent with generous portions Read more

Likes?
The Elvey Farm staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very clean, relaxed feel to it with the added bonus of a hot tub in the secret garden only for Canterbury room guests.
Dislikes?
None
5
Fiona Family with young children Stayed: Sep 15

lovely place with lots of character.

We were not at the farm for long, just an overnight stay. We were overall very happy but the only thing that let the place down was a cheap and uncomfortable mattress on the bed which you just wouldn't expect when you pay 225 for a nights stay. Everything else about the ro was lovely so it was a bit of a shame. Read more

Likes?
The staff were very friendly, the room beautiful and the setting equally beautiful. We were disappointed not to be able to try the restaurant as we'd heard it was excellent but were off to a wedding
Dislikes?
The mattress was very poor and there were cobwebs in the room.
4
Chris Young couple Stayed: May 15

Great get away from it all location

We booked this hotel as we had been for lunch about 4 years ago and had always had it in our mind to return. It was my birthday and we wanted somewhere we could take our little dog with us for a night away. Read more

Likes?
Love the location, nice and secluded. Very poor phone signal which is just what you need to switch off. The surrounding area was ideal for our dog as there were plenty of great walks and pubs!
Dislikes?
None
4
Paul Young couple Stayed: May 15

I ain't afraid of no ghost

Just like to say we had a very enjoyable early Sumer weekend break at the farm would have been nice to stay a little longer Read more

Likes?
We both ready like the character of the farm it's just a shame there's no animals
Dislikes?
Defently not
5
sarah Mature couple Stayed: May 15

A most comfortable stay in Penshurst, a stunning accomodation.

Wish we could have stayed a second night. Read more

Likes?
It more than lived up to expectations.
Dislikes?
None
5
ANNE Young couple Stayed: Apr 15

Elvey Farm needs a bit of TLC

Stayed for one night to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary, was very disappointed with the service from the staff, there was no one about to book us in, no one got back to us after leaving a message on their answer machine, no acknowledgement of our special day & no one on check out. Sorry to say but we feel we had very bad service. Read more

Likes?
Nice shower
Dislikes?
We feel that Elvey Farm could do with a bit of TLC, it has got a bit 'tired'. Very bad stain on the carpet, I didn't feel like walking on it without anything on my feet! Chairs were very uncomfortable
1
Paul Mature couple Stayed: Apr 15

Peaceful accomodation - good food

A a large bedroom with a double and a single bed. Velux windows in sloped ceiling look to front and rear of hotel. Good room facilities with plenty of tea and coffee choices plus good bathroom supplies.
Rooms in the main building are above the dining room and the bar so there is a little noise from beneath.
Friendly and helpful staff, if a little absent minded about precise timings of breakfast and evening meal sessions. Read more

Likes?
Comfortable rooms, with good light and good views.
Excellent food from Italian family currently running the kitchen. Could not be faulted in terms of quality and preparation and reasonable prices.
Dislikes?
Drinks rather over priced - no draught beers.
4
kirsty With a colleague Stayed: Mar 15

we very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again

We were very impressed with the room we stayed in - it was beautifully decorated and very charming. We had a peaceful nights sleep, followed by a lovely breakfast in the morning. Read more

Likes?
Bedroom, food, staff were very friendly and helpful
Dislikes?
The radiator in the room was on full when we arrived, which meant the room was quite hot and we had to open th ed Windows. Perhaps leave the radiators off but tell guests how to switch on on arrival?
5
Paul Young couple Stayed: Mar 15

A little piece of heaven

An overnight break away from everday family madness. This is the 3rd time we've stayed here and the third time we've stayed in the Canterbury Suite Read more

Likes?
The location is superb, right in the heart of the Kent Countryside. The room is amazing and for those that choose to use it there is a private 'Canterbury Suite' hot tub to use.
Dislikes?
The only critique I had about our stay was that when we went for breakfast certain a main item from the Vegetarian menu was not available. Due to this we only had toast.
4
Charlie Young couple Stayed: Mar 15

Amazing night away

We really enjoyed our night in the Canterbury suite, the bed was out of this world. Was a lovely and romantic place to stay.. Would come back again.. Read more

Likes?
Was lovely and quite, really peaceful..
Dislikes?
None
5
Matthew Young couple Stayed: Mar 15

Great Room, slightly too pricey!

A very pleassnt stay and the room quality was top notch in the beautiful converted barn. Personally for the price of the room I would have better quality toiletries, WIFI facilities and a mini bar. We were celebrating an anniversary and were not aware that the restaurant wasn't open which was very disappointing. We were told to try the Rose and Crown but they were booked out for a private function so we had to drive to Smarden. It would have been nice to have a room service facility of some sort Read more

Likes?
Location and quality of room and also the hot tub in the secret garden was a bonus!
Dislikes?
Just the facilities for the price wasn't up to scratch when compared to other hotels.
3
Adelaide Young couple Stayed: Feb 15

Weekend Getaway

Our stay was peaceful and very relaxing, we stayed in the Oast house for 2 nights. Read more

Likes?
The surroundings, the location, the staff.
Dislikes?
We would have utilised the living room more if it was warmer but one of the radiators needed bleeding and not heating up.
It would have been nice if the room had some games, tv, music, walks info
4
Andrew Mature couple Stayed: Feb 15

Excellent

A beautiful location, friendly staff and superb accommodation. Would highly recommend Read more

Likes?
Location and style of hotel. Allowing dogs made it great for us
Dislikes?
None
5
Stephen Mature couple Stayed: Feb 15

Would stay again

Good overall experience would definitely stay again Read more

Likes?
The room and the location
Dislikes?
No
4
Paul Mature couple Stayed: Feb 15

As pleasant as ever- never disappoints

Most enjoyable as ever Read more

Likes?
Returning is always a joy
Dislikes?
None
4
Karen Young couple Stayed: Dec 14

Fantastic rural retreat!

Absolute find!

One night stay near Ashford to facilitate family visit. Perfect setting & surroundings, complimented by quality facilities & staff. Read more

Likes?
Everything!
Dislikes?
Only staying 1 night!
5
Christine Mature couple Stayed: Dec 14

Enjoyable convenient stay on way to Chunnel

Very satisfactory Read more

Likes?
Able to take dog. Extremely friendly.
Dislikes?
Accepting that we were accompanied by our Labrador, the sitting area in the room was well worn. The bath was not easy to use as a shower which I preferred.
5
Angela Mature couple Stayed: Nov 14

Wonderful Treat

Stayed one night to celebrate our Anniversary. Stayed in the Faversham Suite - beautiful, comfortable, can't fault it. Read more

Likes?
Everything - from accommodation to restaurant, everything was faultless. Evening meal and breakfast in morning - the food was amazing.
Dislikes?
None
5
Dan Young couple Stayed: Nov 14

peaceful & comfortable

This is our second stay at Elvey Farm and we will certainly be back. Its peaceful ans ideally situated with a lovely pub at the end of the road with its log fire burning. The only problem we had was that the shower was scalding and we couldnt turn it down so we couldnt shower. Nevertheless, we will return. Read more

Likes?
location
luxurious feel
Dislikes?
the shower
4
Nigel Mature couple Stayed: Nov 14

Good but the heart seems to have gone out of it.

Comfortable stay in Stable Block for a pre-Christmas overnighter and meal. Read more

Likes?
Rooms are good and ours was very private. Location is lovely, with great Christmassy feel. Food was good and service was okay but not in line with prices.
Dislikes?
This was a return visit for us, however last year (2013), we were blown away with attention to detail, staff quality and general approach. This year we felt the heart had gone out of it.
4
Lesley Mature couple Stayed: Nov 14

Fantastic stay, room was fab!

We stayed on our wedding night and arrived at the hotel for just after 9. The room, the Penshurst suite was beautiful and exceeded our expectations on our special night. We are coming back to celebrate our 1st anniversay with you and we're going to try out the restaurant. Read more

Likes?
The good sized room, excellent bathroom and a comfy nights sleep. Breakfast was good too, home cooked and decent quality produce
Dislikes?
no
5
Samantha Young couple Stayed: Nov 14

Really lovely!

Stayed in the Penshurst suite for one night and absolutely loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer. Had a really good meal in the restaurant in the evening and very good breakfast. Read more

Likes?
They just seem to have everything spot on at Elvey Farm, lovely farm buildings, rooms and location, great food and really friendly staff. Have already recommended it!
Dislikes?
None
5
James Young couple Stayed: Nov 14

Beautifully converted farmhouse and buildings

We stayed in the stable block. The whole farm has been converted for use as the B&B, and from the outside it has been lovingly and carefully converted for use. Very very pretty. The location is stunning with green fields all around. The room is lovely with the bathroom hidden away and a small living room. Read more

Likes?
We had a lovely stay in the room, with the bed firm and comfortable and the room warms up almost instantly!! With the shade down it is pitch black and very cosy. The food at mealtimes was nice.
Dislikes?
The pillows were rock hard and the DVD player on the TV didn't work. Plus it was a very small TV (we wanted to watch some old Black and White movies!).
4
Penny-Sue Young couple Stayed: Nov 14

Wonderful relaxing haven

We decided to book a little trip away together due to both having high demanding, hectic jobs. We loved staying at Elvey farm. It was so relaxing and the Canterbury Suite was beautiful. We booked to eat on the Friday night which was just delicious!
Loved the private hot tub - especially watching the fireworks from it!
Staff were lovely and very helpful.
Really enjoyed our stay. Just what we needed! Read more

Likes?
The hot tub was a great experience.
Room was amazing.
Dislikes?
None
5
Luc Mature couple Stayed: Nov 14

Unique place to stay.

We enjoyed this unique farm with a large room for us to stay in.
It's a very quiet lacation, far away from disturbing traffic noises. The very friendly staff served us a delicious breakfast. Read more

Likes?
The unique rooms and a good breakfast.
Dislikes?
None
5
Nigel Mature couple Stayed: Oct 14

Couldn't have been better

My headline says it all really - lovely place, lovely people, lovely food. We were only there for one night as a birthday treat and have booked again for my partner's birthday next year. Read more

Likes?
We really did like 'everything' so can say no more.
Dislikes?
None
5
Jeremy Young couple Stayed: Oct 14

Excellent hotel and restaurant in a beautiful location

We stayed one night. We were attracted to Elvey farm because it was dog friendly and its location. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent restaurant and the quality of the room, which was in a converted stable. Read more

Likes?
Food was excellent. Safe environment for the dog. We enjoyed taking a 4 mile circular walk directly from the farm. I think that it was excellent value for money and we will definitely return.
Dislikes?
None
5
Julie Mature couple Stayed: Oct 14

Most enjoyable

Our stay was overnight break just to get out of London and away from work Read more

Likes?
Most things, we loved the Canterbury Suite and would defo stay again, but a little pricey
Dislikes?
One complaint would be the changing facilities for the hot tub, as it was raining having to get dry in a small dolls house that had a leaking roof was not good, if that could be improved.
5
Emma Young couple Stayed: Oct 14

Beautiful peaceful stay

An absolutely beautifully secluded stay. So incredibly peaceful. My partner and I stayed in one of the stable block suites. Immaculately clean. Very impressed. Stunning view from both front and back windows. Extremely romantic. The breakfast was amazing. A lot of choice and freshly cooked. Gorgeous Kentish roasted coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. All the staff we came into contact with were very accommodating and friendly. Definitely visiting again very soon. Read more

Likes?
All of the above! Very enjoyable stay overall.
Dislikes?
None
5
Heather Young couple Stayed: Sep 14

We love it so much we are getting married there!

We just wanted to get away for 1 night and Elvey Farm is convenient and great value for money. The views are amazing, as well as the staff and food. We've stayed at Elvey Farm quite a few times now and love it so much we are getting married there next August. Read more

Likes?
View, people and food.
Dislikes?
No.
5
Sarah Young couple Stayed: Sep 14

Attentive, personalised service

What a great find! Restaurant run by people passionate about food and their business. Really couldn't have done anything more to ensure we had a great evening.
Breakfast with Simon was a great time to learn how he bought the place. Very envious of such a wonderful hidey hole. Read more

Likes?
Pretty much everything. Even the weather was warm enough for us to sit outside having pre-dinner drinks. And the black cat was more than endearing.
Dislikes?
Only downside was having to listen to a couple describe the hot tub experience on the phone just outside our room...! Thanks for sharing guys.
5
Susan Mature couple Stayed: Sep 14

Disappointing

We had heard good things about Elvey Farm, some years ago, but were disappointed by our stay. The sitting room was dark and gloomy, although the bedroom had a lovely view over fields, and the furnishings were of a poor standard. The extractor fan was very noisy. Food in the restaurant was okay, although the breakfast was very good - great sausages and bacon. The room in which we stayed needs updating. Read more

Response

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. The room you stayed in was converted from a stable block and therefore the sitting area is quite dark, particularly at this time of year when the grapevine shades the light. I agree there are some furnishings which need updating and we have a programme of replacement rolling out over the next few months. Unfortunately things wear out and we can't afford to replace them all at once.

Likes?
Good breakfast and a beautiful location.
Dislikes?
Yes, quality of the room was poor.
3
Sarah Mature couple Stayed: Aug 14

Definitely would stay again

Beautiful place and the canterbury suites amazing ! Read more

Likes?
The grounds, scenery and friendly staff
Dislikes?
Bed was extremely soft depends on what your used to I suppose and the hot tub had way too much chlorine in
5
Richard Mature couple Stayed: Aug 14

A beautiful suite

We stayed at Elvey in the Canterbury Suite to celebrate my girlfriend's 40th Birthday. The suite is fantastically luxurious with a huge shower and separate free standing bath. The converted granary still has the original beams integrated into the suite. A stunningly beautiful and well appointed suite. Staff were very friendly and efficient. A very special thanks to Katie who put up a 40th Birthday banner and blew up several Birthday balloons which I sent in the post at very short notice. Read more

Likes?
Katie was fab! It must have taken a bit of time to set up the balloons and banner which arrived at short notice in the post on the morning before we arrived. Thanks Katie!
Suite was super luxurious!
Dislikes?
None
5
Paula Mature couple Stayed: Aug 14

Bit of a shame for my 40th treat.

We checked in to Elvey Farm and we had discovered that the restaurant wasn't open on a Monday which wasn't mentioned on their website and this meant we had to go up the lane to a pub in torrential rain which meant we couldn't have a drink for my 40th birthday as had to drive or drown!! The heating was on in the room with no means of turning it down or off so we boiled in the night and couldn't open both
Of the windows as one was broken! The bath was in a poor condition with its enamel chipped. Read more

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed. Unfortunately the weather is beyond my control, but I accept we could make the Monday night closure of the restaurant clearer on the website. Every radiator has an individual thermostat so I am not sure why you were not able to turn it down/off. The VELUX windows only leak if they are left open at the wrong angle and the rain pours in. The bath is due to be replaced during the winter

Likes?
The best thing was the breakfast in the morning.
Dislikes?
The bath was in a poor condition and I did not feel happy using it and the window leaked in the bathroom which covered the floor which we mopped up with a towel. I'm sad that this was my 40th treat.
3
Stephen Young couple Stayed: Aug 14

Quiet and beautiful

I stayed in the Canterbury suite for a surprise for my partner and she loved it! The room was beautiful and clean with a double bath and a separate shower. Also the hot tub was amazing with a beautiful view over fields. Read more

Likes?
Everything!
Dislikes?
None
5
Vivienne Alone Stayed: Aug 14

Staff very helpful to an elderly and infirm guest

A short break visiting local relatives Read more

Likes?
The ground floor, pretty rural location. Antique building with modern facilities
Dislikes?
The front of the stable block room was a little dark and would benefit from some stronger LED lighting for reading
4
Fiona Mature couple Stayed: Aug 14

Relaxing Location, Great Service, High Quality Accommodation

We used the Elvey Farm as a base while visiting friends and relatives in West Kent. It was important to us to find somewhere with high quality accommodation that was dog-friendly and we were not disappointed. We were very busy and looking back I wish we had booked a little longer so that we could relax and enjoy the farm's tranquil atmosphere. Read more

Likes?
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was well furnished and clean, and breakfasts were delicious. There was obviously great attention to detail to make guests as comfortable as possible.
Dislikes?
Elvey Farm is very, very good but comparing it to similar places offering high quality accommodation it is a little pricey, even with 20% off during midweek breaks in August.
5
Sarah Young couple Stayed: Jul 14

Very relaxing!

Beautiful location for a relaxing overnight stay. Lovely accommodation and food. The sunshine helped too!
Thank you Read more

Likes?
All very good and would like to return.
Dislikes?
Just had to wait a while in the restaurant for dinner. However, staff were very polite about it and discount given on bill for desserts.
4
Stanley Mature couple Stayed: Jul 14

Gorgeous Place to Stay

Stayed overnight for my birthday and had our room upgraded which was a lovely surprise. I really enjoyed our stay which is the second time and, I hope, there will be many more Read more

Likes?
The location is so tranquil and the whole experience makes you feel special
Dislikes?
Nothing
5
james Mature couple Stayed: Jun 14

Idyllic location,a few spoilers

Lovely spot,good food and the duty manager allowed us to be served dinner on the patio outside our room as the dog was not allowed in the restaurant.It was a beautiful evening and the view across the fields was terrific.We had attempted dinner at the local pub but they predicted an hour's wait... Read more

Likes?
The location, comfortable bed, nice views, very good staff who went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable.
Dinner and breakfast both very good and the dog was able to join us outside for both.
Dislikes?
Flies in the room! Wet room rather tired.Wedding in preparation for the next day and it seemed to dominate the whole hotel.Understandable but other guests should be warned or not sold rooms.
4
Gregor Young couple Stayed: Jun 14

Nice place & excellent food

Just a overnigth stay at the way to the euro tunnel. Read more

Likes?
The Food,the scenery and the friendliness
Dislikes?
That it had been only one night. ;-)
4
Cathryn Mature couple Stayed: May 14

Relaxing country break

. Read more

Likes?
Great food and views from the room. So relaxing, feels like you are miles away from everywhere.
Dislikes?
None
4
Raymond Mature couple Stayed: May 14

What a treat!

A delightful stay in beautiful surroundings. We hope to return again soon. Read more

Likes?
It was peaceful, the bedroom was beautiful and our dog was made very welcome with her own gift in her arrival.
Dislikes?
None
5
Kirsty Young couple Stayed: May 14

Lovely stay!

We had such a lovely night away for my Fiance's 30th birthday! Read more

Likes?
The hot tub and food!
Dislikes?
Nope!
5

Stramacchio Italiano @ Elvey Farm Information

Facilities

  • Baggage store
  • Bar
  • Free Internet access (wireless) in public areas
  • Ironing facilities
  • Non-smoking (throughout)
  • Wedding services
  • Lock-up facility for bicycles
  • On-site parking
  • Free parking

Business Facilities

  • Desk
  • Meeting rooms
  • Photocopier
  • Printer
  • Internet connection (wireless)

Policies

  • Check in: 15:00 till 18:00
  • Check out: 11:00
  • Child Policy: Children welcome
  • Smoking Policy: No smoking
  • Pets: Cats, Dogs, Other small pets

Description

A country guesthouse in the heart of Kent A hidden treasure... At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. Seek sanctuary in one of our elegant guestrooms, housed in a range of period farm buildings. Enjoy a bottle of the finest Kentish wine as the sun sets over our gardens. Take advantage of the outstanding peace and natural beauty of the surrounding countryside, paths and bridleways, or the unique and rustic villages. Discover the luxury, tranquillity and hospitality that Elvey Farm has to offer.

We have one room in the stable block, Tenterden, that has been designed to be suitable for a wheelchair user. In the ensuite there is a walk-in wet room, the sink has been set lower and the toilet raised in-line with the measurements specified by the DDA. The remainder of the rooms in the stable block are also ground-floor and therefore potentially suitable as accessible rooms. Penshurst on the ground-floor of the Granary building also has the potential to be suitable. We have a portable ramp onsite. If you are considering staying with us then you should contact us on 01233 840442 or email bookings@elveyfarm.co.uk for more advice on which rooms might be suitable to meet your needs.

On-site parking, Free parking,

Booking Terms and Conditions

 

We use cookies. By continuing to use this site you are accepting our cookie policies.

Scroll to top